From travelling, I have met a lot of people from around the world. One of my favourite topics to speak about is my country and my city, to inspire them to visit my home city of Lyon. I think I’ve done quite good job with it, because when I came back from my year in Germany, many of my new friends came to see Lyon in all it’s beauty and of course, so did Alex! This blog post let’s me promote Lyon once again, and think about why this is such a cool place. It gives me a good opportunity for me be a tourist in my own city. So here are the mains reasons why you should visit Lyon.

  1. The food

It’s a not a big surprise, I’m guessing but I will recommend many Lyonnaise foods. You can go to have dinner in a lyonnaise bouchon, where you will find typical lyonnaise food in an authentic and welcoming atmosphere.

You can also go to one of the several restaurants of Monsieur Bocuse for high quality dinner. Here’s a top tip for you – if you want to eat a semi gastronomic dinner at a more affordable price, go to the restaurant of Bocuse cooking school, l’Institut. It is located on the corner of Bellecour square. It is a real delight and a great show too, thanks to the glazed kitchen where you can observe the cook working.

In Lyon you can find food of all tastes, but the winner of this food contest is: the tarte aux pralines – validated by Alex… many times!

  1. The beautiful architecture

You can admire the Haussmanienne architecture from the city centre to the 8th quarter in the east of Lyon. So no need to be jealous of Paris! In the quarter called Vieux Lyon and in the hill of La Croix Rousse, you can also appreciate the colours of the buildings, the high ceilings and the narrow tile streets. Another option to observe the city is to walk along the river Saône.

  1. The story of the city

I could write an entire blog about the story of the city that I love. But if you visit Lyon for a week end, I recommend you to visit the Traboules. You can find different group tours on the city’s website – www.visiterlyon.com.

  1. A big city without the big city chaos

The good side of Lyon is that despite it being one of the largest cities in France, it’s not all chaos and busy. We can enjoy the calmness of the city centre’s streets in the morning and the city transport not too busy.

We also enjoy walking in the Tête d’Or park and picnics in the grass, whatever the season and any time of the day, we like taking some time to chill on the Quais du Rhône or Saône.

This is the end of me trying to persuade you why you should visit Lyon, for now. If you liked this blog I would probably come back very soon to share more about Lyon. I’ve only just got started talking about this amazing city.

Don’t hesitate to comment and tell us what you would like to know about Lyon.

Marie-Laure

Leave a comment